I Love You Like That

I Love You Like That

a novel

Perfect for fans of If There’s No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. Armentrout, What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum, and All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, I Love You Like That is the second book in a poignant young adult duology about addiction, sexuality, peer pressure, and first love.

Reeling from the recent “death” of Deacon, her dark and mysterious former boyfriend and first love, sixteen-year-old Hannah Zandana lets herself fall into the arms of the wrong boys—even as her mother’s growing addiction continues to pull her family apart. With her mother hardly functional and her father in full-blown denial, Hannah and her little sister are left to their own devices—and no adult support—in their lives.

After waking up in a strange hospital outside of town, meanwhile, Deacon learns that his convenient “death” has placed him in the middle of a federal undercover sting operation. He’s soon thrown into the dangerous world of Miami drug cartels.

Will a cruel deception and a family’s unresolved grief forever change Deacon and Hannah, or can a love that once was, reignite and lead them back to one another?

ORDER NOW

Editorial Reviews

In her novel, Cumiskey (I Like You Like This, 2017) crafts not only an excellent portrait of teen life in the mid-’80s, but also a fun homage to cultural touchstones like Miami Vice. . . A teen tale that avoids easy answers while gliding to a confident landing.”
Kirkus Reviews

Dark secrets and unforgotten love twist below the surface in this fast-moving teen drama that sizzles with double-dealing betrayals, sexy love triangles, broken families, and enough heart-pounding intrigue to keep the pages turning late into the night.”
—Jan Von Schleh, award-winning author of But Not Forever

I enjoyed every moment of it. A very welcoming and soothing novel to read.”
Readers’ Favorite, Five Star Review

One book with a ton of twists and turns. …Cumiskey is a new author I will totally be checking out for more.”
Crossroads Reviews

I Love You Like That
AWARDS
AS SEEN IN